The Family I’m Creating

My 3 month old was up a little later than normal last night. We were just hanging out in bed when she sees her daddy come in after putting our oldest to sleep. She bursts into the cutest giggles and biggest smile. Every time my husband said something or moved, she laughed harder and harder. Her joy was so contagious that soon we were saying how much our cheeks hurt but we couldn’t stop laughing.

photo

 I absolutely love how much joy is in our lives. I love that this experience is the norm for our family and not the exception. I love that our home has an atmosphere of peace and love and happiness and that others notice this when they’re with us. 

It’s been really fun creating this culture/atmosphere with my husband over the years and we have every intention of continuing it as our family grows. And that’s the thing, it’s all been intentional on our part. It didn’t happen by accident. I realized this week that I have lists in my head of things that I will always do and things I will never do. I have core principles and values I live by that are written deep within my heart.

Over the next weeks, I’m going to write them down and get into each one specifically. Hopefully, they will inspire you and encourage you to be intentional with your own family and the kind of life you are creating. No matter our age, single or married, children or not, we’re all constantly creating our own environments.

This week, it’s short and sweet and the foundation for everything I do. Above everything, I love God. I love Jesus. I love Holy Spirit. Out of this relationship comes every other relationship in my life. Loving God shapes how I love my husband, how I love my children. I think most Christians agree that they desire to be like Christ. The differences come into play because we don’t all see Him the same way. That’s why it’s important for me to really get to know Papa God – how I see Him, is how I will be.

What do you want your family to look like? What’s the culture, what’s the atmosphere you’re creating? What are the core values and principles in your heart and how are you walking them out?

This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Family I’m Creating

  1. Linda says:

    My heart leaps as I read this! Praise God to whom all blessings flow!

Leave a Reply

